JEE examination important details

Joint Entrance Examination (JEE) Main is conducted for the admissions to undergraduate engineering programmes at NITs (National Institutes of Technology), IIITs (Indian Institutes of Information Technology) and other centrally funded technical institutions (CFTIs) located across the country.

About All India Engineering Entrance Examination (JEE)

Joint Entrance Examination JEE (Main) also known as All India Engineering Entrance Examination (AIEEE) conducted by Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE).
This national level competitive test is for admission to various undergraduate engineering and architecture courses in institutes accepting the AIEEE score, mainly 31 National Institutes of Technology (NITs) and 23 Indian Institute of Information Technology (IIITs).

The examination consists of only two papers: Paper 1 for B.E./BTech courses and Paper 2 for BArch courses. A candidate can opt for any or both the papers.

Candidates attempting Paper 1 can select one of the two modes of writing the test. 1) Pen & paper 2) Online.

Paper 1 has three subject sections: Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. Each one of the 3 subject sections consists of 30 questions each with equal weightage for every question. All questions consists of multiple choice objective-type questions each of which has four choices. Out of the four choices for a given question, only one choice is correct. Every correct answer will receive 4 marks each and every incorrectly attempted question will receive a negative marking of -1 mark. There is no negative marking applied if the question is left unanswered.

Paper 2 has three sections: Mathematics, Drawing, and Aptitude. Mathematics, and Aptitude sections have multiple choice objective-type questions and the Drawing section has drawing-based questions.

The duration of each paper is three hours.

For the academic session 2017-18, around 12 lakh candidates appeared in JEE Main 2017. The number of participating institutes of JEE Main also witnessed an increase with addition of 3 new IIITs and 2 GFTIs.

Indian Institutes of Information Technology (IIITs)

National Institutes of Technology (NITS)

Indian Institute of Technology (IITs)

Government Funded Technical Institutes (GFTIs)

Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology(IIEST), Shibpur

Several other Institutes spread across the country The Central Counselling Board coordinates the admissions to the under-graduate courses in the participating institutes.

The Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India has notified following two changes in the JEE pattern for 2017:

1. There shall be no weightage for the 12th class marks in calculating the ranks in the JEE (Main) examination,

2. For the candidates to qualify for the admission in the IITs/NITs/IIITs and such other CFTIs whose admissions are based on the JEE (Advanced)/JEE(Main) ranks, they should have secured at least 75% marks in the 12th class examination, or be in the top 20 percentile in the 12th class examination conducted by the respective Boards. For SC/ST students the qualifying marks would be 65% in the 12th class examination.